Eight Americans Advance to Second Round


CARY, NC, September 13, 2017 – On a day filled with matches, eight Americans will advance to the second round. Dennis Novikov, the 2015 Champion, defeated Austin Krajicek in a close three set match. Novikov served strong, saving six out of seven breakpoints and serving an impressive 18 aces.  Also advancing is the No. 1 seed, Ernesto Escobdeo.  Escobedo defeated Raleigh’s Patrick Kypson.  Kypson fought hard in the second set, winning 56% of second serve points, up from 30% in the first set.  Escobedo broke into the top 100 this past Spring, and reached a career high of 67 this past July.

Another full day of matches is scheduled for Thursday and will feature three all-American match ups.  No. 7 Mackenzie McDonald will take on Christian Harrison in their first ever meeting.  Harrison has been on the comeback trail since qualifying for the US Open in 2016.  This will be the first meeting for McDonald and Harrison.  Another all-American match will feature Dennis Novikov and Georgia Tech alumni Kevin King. Novikov recently advanced to his first ATP quarterfinal in Newport, R.I.  King and Novikov have played each other twice before, with each winning one match.

Atlantic Tire Championships

A USTA Pro Circuit Event

Wednesday, September 13

Cary Tennis Park

Cary, NC

Purse: $50,000

Surface: Hard-Outdoor

Wednesday September 13 - RESULTS
Singles– First Round

Ernesto Escobedo (1), United States, def. WC-Patrick Kypson, United States, 6-1, 7-6(0)

Facundo Mena, Argentina, def. Q-Ryan Haviland, United States, 6-3, 4-0 Retired

Joao Pedro Sorgi, Brazil, def. Q-Skander Mansouri, Tunisia, 6-4, 6-3

Q-Julian Zlobinsky, United States, def. vs. WC-Alexis Galarneau, Canada, 6-4, 5-7, 7-5

Marcelo Arevalo, Spain, def. Michael Mmoh (3), United States, 5-2 Retired.

Mackenzie McDonald (7), United States, def. Alexander Ward, Great Britian, 6-3, 6-2

Christian Harrison, United States, def. Q-Aleksandar Vukic, Australia, 6-3, 7-5

Kevin King, United States, def. Jared Hiltzik, United States, 6-2, 7-6(6)

Mitchell Krueger (5), United States, def. Wil Spencer, United States, 7-6(4), 6-3

WC-William Blumberg, United States, vs. Brydan Klein, Great Britian, 6-2, 7-6(5)

Dennis Novikov (8), United States, def. Austin Krajicek, United States, 4-6, 7-5, 7-5

Doubles– First Round

Sekou Bangoura and Evan King (3), United States, def. Ante Pavic, Croatia, and Dmitry Tursunov, Russia, 6-2, 6-2

Thai-Son Kwiatkowski, United States and Mackenzie McDonald, United States def. WC-William Blumberg and Robert Kelly, United States, 6-7(4), 6-2, 10-6

Facundo Mena, Argentina, and Joao Pedro Sorgi, Brazil, def. WC-Sean Sculley and Nick Stachowiak (United States), 6-4, 1-6, 10-7


Thursday’s September 14 – SCHEDULE

Stadium Court – starting at 12 p.m.

Joao Pedro Sorgi vs. Noah Rubin (6), followed by

Mackenzie McDonald (7) vs. Christian Harrison, followed by

Cameron Norrie vs. Tennys Sandgren (2)

Not before 6:00pm

Facundo Mena and Joao Pedro Sorgi vs. Luke Bambridge and David O’Hare (2), followed by

Ernesto Escobedo (1) vs. Kevin King

Court 15 – starting at 12 p.m.

Q- Julian Zlobinsky vs. Marcelo Arevalo

Not before 1:30pm

Facundo Mena vs. Dennis Novikov (8), followed by

Mitchell Krueger (5) vs. WC-William Blumberg, followed by

Austin Krajicek and Jackson Withrow (1) vs. Luis Patino and Raymond Sarmiento

Court 13 – starting at 1:30 p.m.

Christian Garin (9) vs. Luke Bambridge, followed by

WC-Alexis Galarneau and Michael Ogden vs. Marcelo Arevalo and Miguel Angel Reyes-Varela, followed by

Thai-Son Kwiatkowski and Mackenzie McDonald vs. Mikelis Libietis and Dennis Novikov, followed by

Sekou Bangoura and Evan King (3) vs. (WC) Alexis Galarneau and Michael Ogden or

Marcelo Arevalo and Miguel Angel Reyes-Varela


Atlantic Tire Championships Twitter: @AtlanticTireCh

Atlantic Tire Championships Facebook: AtlanticTireChamp

USTA Pro Circuit Twitter: @USTAProCircuit

Live streaming: www.procircuit.usta.com

Download the USTA Pro Circuit App on the app store 


With approximately 90 tournaments hosted annually throughout the country and prize money ranging from $15,000 to $125,000, the USTA Pro Circuit is the pathway to the US Open and tour-level competition for aspiring tennis players and a frequent battleground for established professionals. The USTA launched its Pro Circuit 38 years ago to provide players with the opportunity to gain professional ranking points, and it has since grown to become the largest developmental tennis circuit in the world, offering more than $3 million in prize money. Last year, more than 1,000 men and women from more than 70 countries competed in cities nationwide. Andy Murray, Maria Sharapova, John Isner, Sloane Stephens, Kei Nishikori, Victoria Azarenka, and Sam Querrey and are among today’s top stars who began their careers on the USTA Pro Circuit. Follow the USTA Pro Circuit at #USTAProCircuit and www.procircuit.usta.com.