All Singles Seeds Advance

CARY, NC, September 11, 2017 – In just their second meeting, Tennys Sandgren secured another win against Ante Pavic. The former University of Tennessee standout, Sandgren won almost 90% of his first serve points and didn’t face any breakpoints during the opening match on Stadium Court.  Fellow American, Noah Rubin, defeated Pedro Sakamoto in the second longest singles match of the day, finishing in just over 70 minutes. The former ACC Player Of The Year from nearby Wake Forest University, Rubin won over 80% of the points on Sakamoto’s second serves.  In addition to Sandgren and Rubin, the other singles seed that played on the opening day of main draw matches, No. 9 Christian Garin, also advanced to the second round. 

The tournament’s first rounds of doubles matches begin, with the team of Mikelis Libietis and Dennis Novikov defeating the No. 4 team of Hans Hach Vedugo and Brydan Klein.  The Libietis/Novikov team capitalized when facing all of their opponent’s second serves during the third set tiebreak, winning 100% of those points. 

Tomorrow is a full day of matches with the evening’s featured singles match featuring 2016 finalist, Ernesto Escobedo.  Escobedo will be facing local player Patrick Kypson.  Kypson recently won the Boys 18s National Championship, earning a direct entry into the main draw of the 2017 US Open. 

Monday September 11 - RESULTS
Singles– First Round

Tennys Sandgren (2), United States, def. Ante Pavic, Croatia, 6-4, 6-4

Noah Rubin (6), United States, def. Pedro Sakamoto, Brazil, 6-3, 6-3

Christian Garin (9), Chile, def. Raymond Sarmiento, United States, 6-2, 6-3

Cameron Norrie, Great Britain, def. Sekou Bangoura, United States, 6-2, 6-3

Doubles-First Round

Luis Patino, Mexico, and Raymond Sarmiento, United States, def. Damon Gooch, South Africa, and Wil Spencer, United States, 5-7, 6-4, 10-5

Mikelis Libietis, Latvia, and Dennis Novikov, United States, def. Hans Hach Verdugo, Mexico, and Brydan Klein (4), Great Britain, 4-6, 6-4, 10-4


Tuesday’s September 12 – SCHEDULE

Stadium Court – starting at 12 p.m.

LL-Luke Bambridge vs. WC-Thai-Son Kwiatkowski 

Not Before 1:00pm

Mackenzie McDonald (7) vs., Alexander Ward, followed by

Austin Krajicek vs. Dennis Novikov (8), followed by

Kevin King vs. Jared Hiltzik

Not before 6:00 p.m.

Thai-Son Kwiatkowski and Mackenzie McDonald vs. WC-William Blumberg and Robert Kelly, followed by

Ernesto Esobedo (1) vs. WC-Patrick Kypson 

Court 15 – starting at 12 p.m.

WC-William Blumberg vs. Brydan Klein, followed by

Christian Harrison vs. Q- Aleksandar Vukic, followed by

Mitchell Krueger (5) vs. Wil Spencer, followed by

Marcelo Arevalo vs. Michael Mmoh (3)

Court 13 – starting at 12 p.m.

Q-Skander Mansouri vs. Joao Pedro Sorgi, followed by

Facundo Mena vs. Q-Ryan Haviland, followed by 

Not before 4:00pm

Q-Julian Zlobinsky vs. WC-Alexis Galarneau