• Home
  • 2018

CARY, NC, September 16, 2018 – Qualifier James Duckworth defeated No. 4 seed Reilly Opelka to claim the Atlantic Tire Championship Singles title. Duckworth didn’t face any breakpoints and battled through Opelka’s 23 aces to claim his first ATP Challenger title for 2018. This is his sixth career singles ATP Challenger Title. Along the way to the Championship match, Duckworth defeated two other tournament seeds: No. 5 Bjorn Fratangelo and No. 6 Kevin King. Duckworth recently played Andy Murray in the first round of the US Open.

The all-American team of Evan King and Hunter Reese defeated the French team of Fabrice Martin and Hugo Nys. This is the pair’s second 2018 title, having previously won the Sarasota Challenger in April. King and Reese defeated the No. 1 seeds in 90 minutes.

With approximately 90 tournaments hosted annually throughout the country and prize money ranging from $15,000 to $125,000, the USTA Pro Circuit is the pathway to the US Open and tour-level competition for aspiring tennis players and a frequent battleground for established professionals. The USTA launched its Pro Circuit 39 years ago to provide players with the opportunity to gain professional ranking points, and it has since grown to become the largest developmental tennis circuit in the world, offering more than $3 million in prize money. Last year, more than 1,000 men and women from more than 70 countries competed in cities nationwide. Andy Murray, Maria Sharapova, John Isner, Sloane Stephens, Kei Nishikori, Victoria Azarenka, and Sam Querrey are among today’s top stars who began
their careers on the USTA Pro Circuit. Follow the USTA Pro Circuit at #USTAProCircuit and www.procircuit.usta.com.

Atlantic Tire Championships
A USTA Pro Circuit Event
Sunday, September 16
Cary Tennis Park
Cary, NC
Purse: $50,000
Surface: Hard-Outdoor

Sunday, September 16 – RESULTS
Men’s Singles Finals
(Q) James Duckworth (AUS) def [4] Reilly Opelka (USA) 7-6(4) 6-3

Men’s Doubles Finals
Evan King / Hunter Reese (USA) def (1) Fabrice Martin / Hugo Nys (FRA) 6-4, 7-6(6)